Print logo


Chairman Markus Ferber, MEP

Born in Augsburg, Bavaria, in 1965, the trained engineer initially worked as a design and sales engineer in microelectronics and environmental technology.  In 1994, Ferber was first elected to the European Parliament as the CSU-Member for the District of Swabia, the constituency he still represents. He is also the CSU’s District Chair for Swabia. Until 1999, he was the spokesperson for the “young group” within the EPP group, between 1996 and 1999 he was also the CDU/CSU-group’s parliamentary manager in the European Parliament (EP). From 1999 to 2014, he served as chairman of the CSU-group, since 2013 he has been the spokesperson for the parliamentary group on small and medium sized businesses. Between 2014 and 2018, Ferber served as first vice-chairman on the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, since 2018 he has been the EPP’s coordinator for the committee in the EP. Ferber is currently also a deputy member in the Committee on Transport and Tourism. Since 2000, he has chaired the Bavarian branch of the ‘Europa-Union’, Germany’s biggest pro-European citizens' initiative. Before taking over as Chair, Ferber served six years as deputy Chairman for the Hanns-Seidel-Foundation.

Secretary General Oliver Jörg

Oliver Jörg, father of three children, was born in 1972 in Aalen and studied law at the  universities of Passau, Würzburg and Linz (Austria). He was admitted to the German Bar in 2004 and practiced as a lawyer full time for four years. Before being appointed as the Secretary General of the Hanns Seidel Foundation in 2019, he spent 10 years as a Member of the

Bavarian State Parliament. During this time, one of his responsibilities was to be chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee for Higher Education, Research and Culture. In addition, he chaired the working group Active Civil Society / Voluntary Work of the CSU Parliamentary group. Mr. Jörg had a lasting influence on the Bavarian scientific landscape, particularly in decentralizing higher education and strengthening the cooperation between universities of applied sciences and the private sector. While in Parliament he was particularly focused on the social development of Bavaria regarding its civil society, culture and the preservation of monuments.

He continues to support numerous non-profit organizations as an honorary member of their executive boards.


Markus Ferber, MdEP
Secretary General
Oliver Jörg
Head of the Executive Office
Dr. Christian Schwarz